Receive up-to-the-minute news updates on the hottest topics with NewsHub. Install now.

2019 Overwatch League season, with Toronto and Vancouver, to kick off Feb. 14

October 11, 2018 3:25 AM
40 0

Toronto and fellow expansion sides Paris, Washington D.C. and Atlanta will join the Atlantic Division, while Vancouver and China’s Chengdu, Guangzhou and Hangzhou will join the Pacific Division.

The esports league season starts Feb. 14 with each of the league’s 20 teams playing 28 matches over four five-week stages at Blizzard Arena Los Angeles.

The division winners and next four top teams regardless of division will qualify for the post-season. Two more teams will make the playoffs via a play-in tournament slated for immediately after the regular season.

The Toronto franchise is run by OverActive Media Group Inc., an esports company whose principal investors included tech entrepreneur Sheldon Pollack and Michael Kimel, part-owner of the Pittsburgh Penguins and co-founder of the Chase Hospitality Group.


Share in social networks:

Comments - 0