Receive up-to-the-minute news updates on the hottest topics with NewsHub. Install now.

Star’s Tanya Talaga on RBC Taylor prize longlist

December 6, 2017 6:23 PM
43 0

Seven Fallen Feathers among group of 10 Canadian books up for $30,000 non-fiction prize

The Star’s Tanya Talaga has been named as one of the nominees for the $30,000 RBC Taylor prize for her book Seven Fallen Feathers: Racism, Death, and Hard Truths in a Northern City.

She joins nine other authors on the list for the well-regarded non-fiction prize. The longlist was chosen from 153 books submitted by 110 Canadian and international publishers.

Apron Strings: Navigating Food and Family in France, Italy, and China, by Jan Wong (Fredericton, NB), published by Goose Lane Edition.

Talaga’s book has been nominated for numerous prizes this year, including the 2017 Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust prize for non-fiction and the 2018 B.C. National Award for non-fiction.

The RBC Taylor Prize was set up in 1993 to honour the journalist Charles Taylor. The award is meant to recognize the author “whose book best combines a superb command of the English language, an elegance of style, and a subtlety of thought and perception,” according to a statement.

The shortlist will be announced on January 10 with the winner revealed at a gala luncheon on February 26, where the winner will receive $30,000, each finalist on the shortlist will receive $5,000.

Also read: Ottawa to deliver competitive boost for Canadian companies


Share in social networks:

Comments - 0